SALTY / The Mothers’ Room, part 2

After posting my article, The Mother’s Room, on postpartum depression last week, a couple of things happened.

ONE. Women reached out to me. They heard me. The related because… well, a lot of people do. In the United States it only takes a year for 600,000 women to show signs of depression after childbirth. And that’s based on percentages of women who even identified the signs. I didn’t until it was over. I was honored that so many women would tell me what they’ve been through and trust me to handle their story with care. I thought I should be stunned by some of their stories because, “Really? YOU? But I was surprisingly unsurprised. Don’t ever be fooled; nobody has it all together.

TWO. It didn’t take long for doubt to creep into my mind. Dang that vulnerability. It always feels risky. My biggest fear was that I left you all hanging. I didn’t give you a solution. I didn’t even give you BIBLE! I just told you my story without any answer how to make the ride stop.

Did I give people permission to wallow?
Did I deprive them of the victory they could have by just saying it’s ok to be depressed?
Did I give the impression that Jesus can’t fix it? (Even though, HELLO, I finished up the article reminding readers that God can hold his own).

Holy fluffernutter sandwiches. I have to stop telling myself this trash.

I got my new “Write the Word” Journal from the Lara Casey Shop. Each page offers a scripture reference for you to write down with your own hands. I love writing things by hand. It sticks with me, you know?

Two days after posting The Mothers’ Room, I was prompted to write Matthew 5:13-16. Allow me to begin, with the Message Paraphrase:

“Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage.”

Shoot. When I was depressed, did I lose my saltiness? Will I end up in the garbage? DID I JUST TELL PEOPLE TO GO THROW THEMSELVES IN THE DUMPSTER???

I’m so glad I didn’t stop there. Because my questions display a terrible lack of understanding. I’ll continue:

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand – SHINE! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. BY OPENING UP TO OTHERS, YOU’LL PROMPT PEOPLE TO OPEN UP WITH GOD, this generous Father in heaven.”

Sweet Jesus.

Did anyone open up to God because I opened up to them? Maybe I didn’t let them in my house, but I let them in my life.

Do you know what honesty makes you? Do you?

SALTY.

Oh, and PS. Here’s a picture of my new pumping room. It’s not a Mother’s Room (so I’m getting used to sharing!!!), but look what it’s called. SERENITY ROOM. Perfect for a fresh start, don’t you think?

serenity

Please pretty please please please. Keep bringing out the God-flavors of this earth with your honest stories. And tell me all about it, how you’ve opened up to others, how they’ve opened up to God… Because, you know, I want you to. (That’s a good reason, right?)…

I love, love, love you. You are sooooo salty.

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Our Life, Things We Have Learned and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SALTY / The Mothers’ Room, part 2

  1. Pingback: The Mothers’ Room / What you didn’t know about me | ELEVATE / perspectives to lift you up

Leave a Reply

