Thank God it’s One O’clock

Thank God it’s one o’clock.

Today was supposed to be wonderful. It was supposed to be just like I imagined. It was supposed to be Mommy’s special day with Charlie before my maternity leave ends in a few days. Charlie has still been going to the babysitter during the day as always while I have cared for our newborn (can I still say newborn now that he’s 6 weeks old?), Jase. But today we were the three caballeros.

And thank God it’s one o’clock.

Hubby and I have been working on learning to discipline our Charlie, who is 2 and a half and seems to be the boss around here, unfortunately. I’ve written about it before, and we are still fighting the good fight. Some areas seem to show improvement, and it’s not just Charlie that is learning and adjusting – we parents are really having to change our thought process and habits, too. But lately I have felt like this new pattern is swallowing up another essential area – falling in love.

Have you ever heard that people fall in love because they’re getting continuous “deposits” into their love bank, and they fall out of love when there are “withdrawals”?  I have been neglecting deposits in favor of correction when actually they are both necessary. So last week, Lyle and I took the boys to a special party day at the pool!2dgizbok1tr

20150207_124136 20150207_133133 20150207_143318We had a blast! All of us! And today I wanted to make some deposits too. We started off at Chick-fil-a for breakfast and then spent some time with a group of mommies and kiddos from church, singing and playing and snacking and crafting. You can see I had high hopes when we started our day:

20150213_090544

Oh yeah, I got this. 

No, no I don’t. Trying to leave the restaurant involved chasing.

Trying to leave the play group involved chasing.

Trying to get into our house involved tears.

You want a snack? Cereal? Ok. But I gave you Cheerios. My mistake, thinking that’s cereal.

You want chips? Ok. But I put them in a bowl. My mistake. Why on earth would I do that?

This is not the day I imagined. I don’t feel like I’m making deposits, but he is making withdrawals from my love bank big time. And I’m so glad it’s One O’Clock…

NAPTIME. I don’t even care that he is still calling me from his room 10 minutes later. It’s naptime!

Can anyone relate to this???

Whew. Ok. I needed a break. So I helped myself to the leftover chips and cereal. As I propped my feet up on a chair and opened my Bible app on my phone, I couldn’t help but pout, thinking what a waste of one of my last days with Jase this has been, and that I’m a failure and have made zero deposits.

The verse of the day popped up. It’s Galatians 6:9, that verse that says not to give up.

Is that a message for me? I opened up the whole chapter.

YOU GUYS. LISTEN TO THIS.

(Verse 8 and 9) Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful nature will harvest decay and death from that sinful nature. (OMG THAT IS MY SON). But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit. So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

I can’t believe it. This morning wasn’t a waste after all. I’m doing my job helping him move from decay and death to everlasting life – and all the discipline and love I’m pouring out are worth it, because “just the right time” is coming.

In the meantime, do you think it’s still ok that I’m overjoyed that it’s one o’clock? I could go for some baby cuddle therapy. Ahhh, that’s the stuff…

What harvest are you pressing toward?

Don’t grow weary!

Love, Carolyn

 

 

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Charming Charlie, Just Sayin', Our Life, Things We Have Learned and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank God it’s One O’clock

  1. Pingback: The Parent Screw Up | ELEVATE / perspectives to lift you up

  2. Pingback: Just Like You | ELEVATE / perspectives to lift you up

Leave a Reply

