The Life of Jesus Starring Charlie (2014)

This time of year I like to stop and reflect on Jesus’s childhood (check out my thoughts in 2012 and 2013)… I look at my own son and imagine how Jesus grew and what he was like… what his parents experienced… and just try to get a bit of an intimate glimpse into my Lord. I always come away in awe of how he went through a human life like my own just to be able to relate to me, and also wondering if his sinless existence made him different than my sinful little one {“GASP, did she call her innocent little boy SINFUL?” Um, yeah, just like everyone. Trust me, when you have children, you realize how innocence and sinfulness can co-exist}.

And discipline… oh, discipline… did Jesus need it like Charlie does? I wonder if Joseph ever had to do, “JESUS… ONE… TWO…TWO AND A HALF…. Or was this a non-issue? Sidebar – remember the time Jesus was 12ish and disappeared for a few days without his parents knowing where he went? Hm… that doesn’t really fit with “honor your father and mother,” but it was honoring his Heavenly Father as he learned in the temple… did he get disciplined for that? Should he have? I’m willing to bet he disobeyed direct parental instruction like “stay in the caravan…” Anyway…

This year I’m also expecting another little boy ANYMINUTENOW… and it made me think, did Jesus lay on Mary’s sciatic nerve and make her walk slower than a turtle through molasses? I know he delivered us from pain and disease when he was suffering and beaten (“by his stripes, we were healed” – 1 Peter 2:24), but he hadn’t done that yet. So… what was Mary’s pregnancy, labor, and delivery like? I’m also curious whether riding mammalian transportation would make that worse. And how did she get a leg over? Maybe she rode side-saddle. Or waddled on foot. Questions, questions. Don’t you love imagining the scene?

Anyway, here are some things we’ve experienced with Charlie this year, from 1 ½ to 2 ½.
At this age, our Charlie has been…

  • Climbing out of the crib and getting a (very) bloody lip.
  • Using complete sentences and having actual conversations – vocabulary EXPLOSION!
  • Moving into the Big Boy Bed.
  • Interacting with Mommy’s belly with Baby Brother on the way.10703750_855613132823_8274360143619281394_n
  • Moving into “our new house.”
  • Reciting every other word or phrase when Mommy and Daddy read to him
  • Wrestling with Daddy.
  • Holding hands to pray before dinner.
  • Delaying bed time (and other things) with “just one other hug,” and “Oh! I gotfor (forgot to) kiss you, Mommy!”
  • Feeding the pets.
  • Playing the timeless sport of bowling for the first time.10615385_858783010363_8924896967631875450_n
  • Trusting Daddy to catch him mid-air.
  • Imagining sooooo much (who taught him about dragons spitting fire????)
  • Confusing us with, “I want this,” immediately followed by wailing, “NO DON’T WANT THIS!!!”
  • Pouting and whining too much.10488001_816264283233_4297569493793862184_n
  • Learning manners – when to say please, thank you, I’m sorry, and following “I farted” with “Excuse me.”
  • Being completely charming.
  • Being such a big helper… involved with EVERYTHING….10616212_857876801413_5585395776736731008_n
  • Saying, “Daddy, you’re my best friend.” And other heart-melting gems.
  • Using and misusing common phrases, like “Bye, Alligator!” or telling Daddy, “Give my heart back! You broke my heart!” upon Daddy “taking” different body parts (you know how you always take their nose…) Oh, and apparently he is “cray cray.”
  • Practicing sitting on the potty.
  • Learning to share (and even more fun, being shared with).984042_793119395773_1305051651_n
  • Doing the same thing OVER AND OVER AND OVER BECAUSE IT’S SO FUNNY AND I WANT TO KEEP LAUGHING FOREVER SO I’M GOING TO DO IT AGAIN NOW AND ONE MORE TIME IF THAT’S OK AND LOOK IT’S FUNNY THE 48TH TIME TOO. But you know, it doesn’t get old for Mom and Dad either because his laugh is so intoxicating.
  • Singing medleys of ABC + Happy Birthday + Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Can you see Jesus acting this way? Doing these things? He was 2 years old once. Because he wanted to experience human life like yours and understand so he could sympathize with your weakness (Hebrews 4:15) and offer you the grace you need to make it through in the tough times. He gave up his throne in heaven for over 30 years and instead lived on earth where he “had no place to lay his head,” (Luke 9:58) and people were constantly plotting to take his life (oh, and they did). Doesn’t sound like a good gig to me. But he did it for love. He did it for you. Thank you, Jesus, and Hallelujah.

“May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.” 2 Cor 13:14

Merry Christmas!

Love,

Lyle, Carolyn, Charlie, and Baby Brother

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Charming Charlie, Just Sayin', Our Life, Things We Have Learned and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Life of Jesus Starring Charlie (2014)

  1. AMEN! I thoroughly enjoyed this. Much food for thought, as usual.

  2. Pingback: The Life of Jesus Starring Charlie (2015) | ELEVATE / perspectives to lift you up

Leave a Reply

