My Superpower

WonderWomanDid you know I’m a superhero with secret powers?

Ok, maybe just a few.

Well… ok I have one superpower.

I cannot fly faster than a speeding bullet or zap instant doors into the wall with my laser-beam eyes, but let me tell you what’s even better…

I can make my baby stop crying, with a single song. That’s right, my voice is my superpower. I call it super-instant-hypnotic-infant-vocalizer. Yeah baby.

Singing. “Lame” says you. You may be happy with a pacifier {and I have no bad bubby vibes, trust me}. But here’s a little history  about my Glory Days. We all have Glory Days, don’t we?

Once upon a time, I was a musician. In high school, my passion was show choir, marching band (where I met Mr. Nelson), performing in churches across the town, and tickling the ivory keys of any piano around. I played the flute, alto sax, tenor sax, percussion, and even tried my hand at acoustic guitar. I traveled with a group in college across the Midwest that gave pastors a break for a weekend by being their “guest church servers.” Music was my greatest fun and represents a huge investment of my time.

And then I grew up. And I got a job. And other things began to fill my life. And I missed music. If I had time to play you the tiniest violin right now, I would do it in a heartbeat.

But God gave me a gift in 2012 – a little baby boy. My Charlie.

No, I wont stay still.

And Charlie is my new favorite audience. He loves it when I sing “Cheer Up Charlie” from the old Willy Wonka film, or a favorite of mine, “Count Your Blessings” from Bing Crosby’s White Christmas movie. Before Charlie was even born, I was singing him the song my Momma taught me growing up, “May the Good Lord Bless and Keep You.”

And he becomes peaceful. He quiets to my voice.

This private performance is just as satisfying as any song I ever sang to a crowded sanctuary or concert hall.

My superpower is a gift from my God. He knew what I missed and what I needed that puts life in my spirit. He made it a blessing to my boy and to me. I’m so grateful.

Two notes here –

1) There are Glory Days in my future as well. I hate it when people live for the past. When you pursue your dreams, you always get them back. They may look different than they did before, but I’ve heard you should make your dreams bigger than your memories (thanks Terri Savelle Foy) and my dreams are within my grasp because I refuse to quit on them. When I grasp them, maybe I’ll invite you to my home or my church where I will be playing my piano and singing about God’s love, because I’ll have created the time in my life to pursue that passion.

2) My super-instant-hypnotic-infant-vocalizer superpower is awesome. But there is a kryptonite. It’s called teething. Ahhhh!!!!! Ain’t nobody got time fo dat.

What’s your superpower?

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Charming Charlie, Just Sayin', Our Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Superpower

  1. Dianne says:

    I SO enjoyed this. I am smiling because I am so happy for you, knowing exactly what it feels like to sing and connect with your baby- it’s the best!

  2. Pingback: The Mothers’ Room / What you didn’t know about me | ELEVATE / perspectives to lift you up

Leave a Reply

