Hi Ho Apple-O!

After a brief blogging hiatus, I had hoped my return to your eyeballs would be profound and revelational {Lyle says that if you can spell it, then it’s a word… and I can spell revelational}.

Good idea. I’ll have to use that one another time.

Instead, how about an apple-icious anecdote!

Set the scene: It’s dinner time. Baby Charlie boy is not interested in green bean puree tonight, so Mom and Dad occupy him with those little cheerio-shaped apple snacks that dissolve in your mouth {or stick to your chin, cheeks, and fingers}. Charlie is making the most of his edible entertainment, and we draw it out by retrieving lost apple-o’s from the crevices of the high chair again and again.

Fast forward: Charlie and I have just gone through our nightly bedtime ritual. I changed his diaper {I’m getting better at doing this when he’s rolling over and crawling across the changing table}, we got into the footie jammies, I reminded him that God has plans to give him hope and a future while we nursed, and he laid down in his crib snuggling a little lamb and sucking on a bubby. Zonk. He’s out. Zzzzzzz….

However, a some point during this process I discover a foreign object in the nursery… an apple-o! I head downstairs to show Lyle.

“You’ll never guess where I found this!”

And pop! Into hubby’s mouth it goes. I think he thought he was being funny — til he saw the laughter on my face.

Lyle asks hopefully, “Not in his diaper, right?

Yes… that’s exactly where I found it.

Hi Ho Apple-O!  And….. I’m back!

***Disclaimer: Names have not been changed to protect the parties involved, nor was permission requested to divulge apple-icious anecdotes noted above. 🙂

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Just Sayin', Our Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hi Ho Apple-O!

  1. Dianne says:

    so glad to have you back blogging. about the cheerio…. EWWWW!

  2. Jim Carpinelli says:

    I’m glad you are back and thanks for the fresh story. You will be telling that one for a long time.

Leave a Reply

