Last Week I Got High, or 11 Guaranteed Adrenaline Rushes

Last week I got high.

On adrenaline.

In my car.

No, I wasn’t tempting the blue and red lights with high velocity, or weaving precariously through tight spaces in traffic. And I didn’t screech sidewinding to a halt at the edge of an unfinished bridge à la James Bond {Did James Bond ever do that? Seems like he would}.

I was actually at McDonald’s. I know, right?

No really, I was at the drive thru. I noticed the lady behind me in my rearview and thought, “She looks like she could use a break in the monotony.” So I sent up a prayer for her and asked the cashier to swipe my card for two checks instead of one.

Talk about a high!

Ha! You thought I meant drugs. No, not my thing… although I hear you can do that legally in Washington now.

But I couldn’t believe what was a RUSH just paying for a stranger’s meal was! My mind was racing with “How will she take it?” … “Did she feel blessed?” … “Maybe I’ll see on the news later that people at McDonald’s kept paying for the next car for hours and hours!!!” … “What if she follows me until I park and hugs me and asks me about Jesus?!”

Cool it, Carolyn… Whew! I’m almost sweating just recounting the tale. It’s cardio without the annoyance of exercise.

I doubt I will ever know what that $4 french fry feast meant to this stranger. Maybe nothing.

Maybe everything.

Either way, the experience improved my day dramatically. I was excited. All day. And now. I couldn’t wait to share it with you! I know more than one adrenaline junkie out there has red dollars in their skydiving budget and is just looking for a $4 rush.

Well let me answer the call – besides paying for someone’s something somewhere, here are 10 Guaranteed Adrenaline Rushes, of the Random Act Of Kindness Variety:

  • Help someone whose car is broken down.
  • Strike up a conversation with a stranger, wearing your biggest grin.
  • Send someone flowers for any reason you can think of.
  • Bring a meal to a neighbor, whether they need one or not.
  • Go out on a limb with your gifts and talents. Sing at a nursing home, or whatever suits your skill set.
  • With mature wisdom, tell someone (or a group) your honest story.
  • Help that person at the grocery store who looks like they need a third (4th?) arm.
  • Touch someone to encourage. Seriously. If you are not a touch-y person, you’ll get a rush just from physically patting someone on the back.
  • Make someone laugh.
  • Mow, shovel, or weed the neighbor’s yard when they’re not looking.

Which one makes your heart pump? Do it. Have you been the doer/recipient of a Random Act of Kindness? I hope you’ll comment.

Recommended Movie: Evan Almighty. Seriously, if you have not seen this movie about a guy learning the value of random acts of kindness, you’re missing a Steve Carell classic.

 Love,

 Carolyn 🙂

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Just Sayin', Things We Have Learned and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Week I Got High, or 11 Guaranteed Adrenaline Rushes

  1. Dianne says:

    That is so fun! I am putting my thinking cap on to see what I can come up with 🙂

Leave a Reply

