Multi-Purpose Pants / Nelson Family Update

Which of the following, if any, are actual possibilities in a new mommy’s world?

  • A) Her husband telling her to go out and have fun – he will watch the baby.
  • B) Her parents visiting without telling her how to raise her child the right way.
  • C) Her infant fitting into the same outfit for *three* special occasions.
  • D) All of the above.
  • E) None of the above.

And the answer is…

D, all of the above! Am I a blessed woman or what?

Over the last two weeks, all of these things have happened in my new-mommy-world. Here’s the scoop on what’s going on with the Nelsons lately, starting with the best excuse to post pictures of the baby 🙂

Three occasions to wear the same outfit, before outgrowing it!

These are Charlie’s multi-purpose camouflage pants, a gift from Dale, Lyle’s generous boss at Truth@Work. Within two weeks, my bouncing boy wore these patriotic britches for {count ‘em!} (1) Halloween, (2) Election Day, and (3) Veterans’ Day.

Charlie’s First Halloween

Charlie’s First Election Day

Charlie’s First Veterans’ Day

He’s proud to be an American. And I’m proud I made his dog tag bib! After ravaging the craft store and realizing how crafty I’m not, I finally settled on extra shiny duct tape (Lyle found it!) and black thread on a plain white bib. The tags say “NELSON” and “2012.” Of course, Charlie spit up all over them.

My Little Man was such a trooper {hm… trooper…punny!} letting me show him off to every neighbor at Halloween. Not to mention getting up before the sun to help me make friends in line at the polls last Tuesday {a clear advantage of bringing baby everywhere you go – who do you think took our picture?  Our new friend, of course}. And for Veteran’s Day, we didn’t do anything tremendously veteran-y, but we did attend a bonfire and hayride (Charlie’s first!) with some business partners we consider to be “Freedom Fighters.” I know, it’s not the same. But it’s still important. 🙂

 

Visit from the Grands!

We welcomed my doting parents to the Nelson Guesthouse (aka the Nursery) for a whole weekend! Our visit included a pizza dinner out to celebrate the “birthday girls” {no, neither my sister nor I had a birthday within three weeks of the celebration, but it was fun anyways!}, a tour of Zionsville Indiana, and endless giggling while we laid on the floor helping Charlie roll over… and over… and over… which he thought was hilaaaaarious.

My hardworking hubby, Lyle, had just finished coordinating an event called America’s Best Hope, where Truth at Work hosted almost 1,000 attendees committed to mentoring young business professionals. He woke up that Friday up at 5am, put out event fires all day long, and still managed to be a hospitable and generous host for our guests until late that evening, with NO NAP!I admire and appreciate him more than I can say. And, to top it off, he got up and made us all “real” breakfast (involving meat) TWICE that weekend. Time goes too quickly through visits like this one. Christmas can’t come soon enough.

Girls’ Night Out

My wonderful sister invited me to attend a musical. The students of the Middle School where  Señorita Jeanette molds young minds put on an adorable show about the fabled Ugly Duckling. It’s amazing what kids can do with leadership and encouragement! I was very impressed with the quality of the show, and… I admit, I teared up when Mama Duck went off in search of her little Ugly, leaving the rest of the family behind on the farm… waddling through the cold rain … venturing far beyond the church yard’s edge…driven by a mother’s heart… oh, Charlie, I love you!!!

Drama like that required emotional healing. So we went to Orange Leaf.

Oh, Lyle, I forgot to tell you… we went to Orange Leaf while you were introducing Charlie to the Amazing Spiderman.

Other things we’ve been up to lately:

  • Went on our 2nd date since Charlie was born (thanks for babysitting, Auntie Jeanette)!
  • Laughed like little kids when we sampled new Nutrilite Multi-Pops kid’s vitamins (they’re like pop rocks, which I haven’t had in FOREVER!!! You need to try a sample!)
  • Secret Project – Lyle won’t tell me what it is. Everytime I come near his computer he shuts off the monitor… anyone have a guess? ***Update*** Secret Project Unveiled!
  • We have done more praying together lately, sometimes as a couple and sometimes as a family. It brings me so much peace.
  • I created Grateful Gertie! I thought it would be an encouragement to have a reminder to be grateful, and a place to go online to see what’s right in the world. She hasn’t caught on yet, but I hope you’ll friend her on facebook and tag her when you post a picture or status of something you’re grateful for!  It’s gonna be “a thing,” I swear!
  • We went to an event at a local mall welcoming Santa… and it was 70 degrees 🙂 As you can see, Charlie was confused.

Ok, that’s all I’ve got! Looking forward to seeing Lyle’s family for Thanksgiving… Maybe Charlie can meet his cousins Thad & Levi!!! {please please please!!!}

Recommended Reading:

Blessed.

Love, Carolyn

About Carolyn Nelson

Just trying to spread a little grace. I am in love with 4 boys (married to one, mother to three), and I think you're stinkin' awesome.
This entry was posted in Charming Charlie, Just Sayin' and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Multi-Purpose Pants / Nelson Family Update

  1. Dianne says:

    You ARE so blessed! Loved the pictures of Charlie, too!

  2. Jim Carpinelli says:

    thanks for the fun read.

  3. Pingback: SECRET PROJECT UNVEILED! « NelsonTotalLife

  4. Pingback: The Life of Jesus: Starring Charlie (2012) « NelsonTotalLife

Leave a Reply

